Coming back to life

It has been a while since I’ve posted. Since last I wrote so much has happened! The most notable event is that my mother FINALLY received a new heart and the transplant has thus far been a great success! So successful that she and I will be walking in a 3K to benefit brain cancer research this July. Visit our personal page to donate.

A midst all of the changes – including multiple jobs, perspectives and new DIY projects, I have found myself in a perpetual state of rebirth. Let’s call it “birth from the earth” for now.  What do I mean by this? Well, I guess you could say I’ve been getting back in touch with the basics of working the land.  Something so simple has breathed new life into my soul and for the first time in years, I am calm.

The planting season is, for me the best time of year as it is filled with opportunities to create. To support my love of farming and gardening, I have found myself a job in a little green house nearby my home. Water plants, pruning and learning as much about the variety of plants that are grown there are my goals in the coming weeks. And it is therapeutic! The most exciting planting I have been doing is for a local farm-to-table restaurant in town called Roots Cafe. Their mission? “To serve the well-being of people and the planet by supporting sustainable farming practices and a healthy lifestyle.” Sounds pretty good to me! Anyways, I recently got inspired by what people might otherwise refer to as ‘kindling’ — shipping pallets. Believe it or not, pallets are capable of baring loads in many different ways. In this case, the weight of soil and plants.

succulents herb pallet at RootsInstallation at Roots
Stewie the Roots Cafe guard dog who attacks with kisses. 

If you are interested in purchasing a customized pallet garden, please contact me.  I can make gardens out of pretty much anything you’d like – old chairs, dressers, chests etc.  I would qualify my style as industrial meets the Secret Garden. A whimsical twist is never a bad thing in my book. Until next time…

Cheers,

Sarah

 

Leave a Reply

